Menu

Great Things as I Come to Argentina

February 10, 2014 - Animals, Food, Weather
Tulia and I cooling off in the pool!

Tulia and I cooling off in the pool!

Argentina has humid weather, amazing roaming animals, and fresh and juicy foods that will lighten up your tastebuds!

 

Weather here in Argentina is always hot and humid which makes for boiling summers and fall-like winters. When I arrived here last week, I was surprised that the heat made me feel tired and heavy because I’m so used to the coolness of Calgary.   I was expecting to love the heat, but I didn’t really love it until I could jump into my backyard pool to cool off.  Yesterday night it rained and rained with booming thunder and electrifying lighting, only stopping this morning. It was a good thing because it freshened up the plants and trees, and made the day a little cooler.  We aren’t the only ones dealing with the weather here, animals are too!

 

Hummy, the hummingbird, in our backyard.

Hummy, the hummingbird, in our backyard.

The animals here make you feel as if you were on a tropical island.

Hummingbirds hover through the sky, while insects (which are HUGE and freak me out) annoy the land, and the dogs… well… roam the city as if it was their own. We have a hummingbird in the backyard that is always around when I’m in the swimming pool, drinking nectar from all the flowers, my sister calls him Hummy.

Grasshoppers are HUGE!

I am surprised to see the size of the bugs such as beetles, crickets, and water bugs; although the mosquitos are huge and every where, that didn’t surprise me that much, but they sure bite me!  Dogs here wander like cats do in Calgary.

Dogs in Argentina

So, you need to watch out for gangs of dogs and messes on the sidewalks.  Weather and animals aren’t the only interesting things about Argentina, food is another!

 

Food here in Argentina is everything from freshly picked fruits to juicy butchered meat. Fruit in Argentina is always fresh whether it’s from a backyard orange tree (which will ripen in May) or a garden. So far I have loved eating the watermelons which are so sweet, honeydew melon, and carrots.

Asado – Argentina BBQ of beef and sausage!

Meat in Argentina is a proud favourite always fresh from the butcher to be cooked, seasoned, and especially eaten and enjoyed!  Since we arrived last week I have loved milanesa (battered veal); huge, juicy chicken; and asado, which is a BBQ of sausage and beef.  We are eating well in Argentina!

 

From the humid weather, to the roaming animals,and the fresh and juicy food, Argentina is truly the best!

16 thoughts on “Great Things as I Come to Argentina

Bryan Andrews

So happy to hear that you are enjoying yourself there.

Reply
    lucaj

    We are indeed loving the pool and all the walks!

    Reply
BA Carse

Luca, you are a travel journalist in the making! With the exception of the HUGE bugs, you inspire me to visit. Can we take in one of the dogs for a pet? Love, BA

Reply
    lucaj

    Hope you can visit!

    Reply
Soha Kneen

What a great blog entry Luca! I feel that I can see the world in Argentina through your eyes! Have fun while there! 🙂

Reply
    lucaj

    Fun is my middle name (not really)!

    Reply
Mrs. Bradley

So neat to hear about your trip. You are an excellent culture journalist! This is a neat glimpse into what life is like in another culture! Thank you. The class is reading your post right now and would like to say:
Kyle: I wish I was there! Sorcha: Can you send me some watermelon? Arvin: Do they have a hockey team? Abigail: Hi! Carson and the rest of us!: WE ARE FREEEZING!!!!!

Reply
    lucaj

    Thank you for reading my blog so quickly!!!

    Questions :
    Kyle: I hope so too. Sorcha: I don’t know the watermelon here is HUGE. Arvin: they play field hockey but the main sport is soccer . Abigail: hi to you to. Carson and the rest of us: Enjoy the cold!

    Reply
Ivy

Luca, your words about not only Argentina, but the world around you makes me wish I could be there to taste and see and feel all the things that you discribe. You are very talented and you and your sister should be proud of your selves for being so inspirering. I will look forward to more of your blog.

Reply
    lucaj

    We are super proud!

    Reply
Dawn

We are FREEZING in Calgary. Right now the idea of melting seems positively wonderful. Too bad we can’t have the best of both worlds at the same time.

How interesting that there are dogs roaming around there. I heard there is a similar problem in Socchi (although it sounds like it became more of a problem when they realized they had company coming). Are the dogs friendly? I would be tempted to take one home!

Reply
    lucaj

    The dogs are friendly, if you consider protecting you from any car that comes by!

    Reply
Ted

Very interesting! You made me hungry!The food sounds delicious!!

Reply
    lucaj

    The food is indeed delicious!

    Reply
Wanda A

Hi Luca, I could almost taste the food you discribe. I look forward to your next entry!

Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar