Menu

!!!Buenos Aires!!!

May 21, 2014 - Culture, Things to Do, Travel, Uncategorized
Tulia and I in La Boca!  No, I won't tango!

Tulia and I in La Boca! No, I won’t tango!

Tulia and I at the famous corner of La Boca!

Tulia and I at the famous corner of La Boca!

Standing waiting for a bus and you have a heavy traveling bag FILLED with stuff at 12:00 midnight isn’t the funnest thing to do, but when the bus comes and you get on it’s TOTALLY worth it; because this bus isn’t only a double decker, it’s COMFORTABLE with soft cushions, lean back seats, and a nice stool for you to lounge your feet. And with all that comfort, you fall asleep instantly. That’s how my adventure to Buenos Aires began. My sister Tulia, my mom, my dad,  Gina (Ms. Grace), and I were going to Buenos Aires for Gina’s last few days here in Argentina.

Our hotel room where we stayed was called the Lennox, and it had two beds, a really small kitchen, and a bathroom with a REALLY cool sink! Gina had the same type of room but there was only one bed instead of two.  The hotel was really slick and expensive looking, like a luxury hotel with all the black and fancy furniture and decor.  Some cool features of the hotel with a revolving door, a rooftop hot tub, a big patio with a wall garden.  Overall, I felt rich getting to stay there!

Tulia in the lobby of the Lennox - "Momma, I shrunk the Tulia"!

Tulia in the lobby of the Lennox – “Momma, I shrunk the Tulia”!

The gorgeous patio - our room was at the top with the blue surrounding the windows!

The gorgeous patio – our room was at the top with the blue surrounding the windows!

The breakfast there was awesome, it was a buffet where you help yourself to whatever is there which is cereal, drinks like milk and juices , fruit, ham and cheese, dessert-like pastries, muffins, and breads  (which you could toast if you wanted).  Every morning I fuelled up with a heap of food.

Beautiful La Boca!  Can I paint my house like this?

Beautiful La Boca! Can I paint my house like this?

Our first day we went to La Boca, which is one of the oldest and poorest of neighbourhoods where every building has so many different colours. They are different colours because there were these cargo ships that would come and the people would ask for leftover paint to paint their houses and the Captain would say “Ya, here’s some red” and the next day the people would ask if they had paint for them and the Captain would say, “Ya, here’s some (red, blue, yellow, green, orange, and so on)”. The streets were filled with artisans, which made us stay there for SO much longer because our parents looked at EVERYTHING, but we did get to eat delicious milanesa and watch tango for cheaper than it is for one person to see the fancy tango shows at night.  Sitting there on the patio we enjoyed the sights, smells, food, music, and dancing that makes Buenos Aires, and La Boca, so interesting and beautiful!

DSCN7149

The beautiful El Ateneo Bookstore! Too bad I can’t read in Spanish, yet!

In the next few days we saw things like the widest street IN THE WORLD, 14 lanes wide!  The street has the “obelisco”, which is a tall pole thing made of sandstone, lots of shops, and interesting architectural buildings.

Malba museum

Malba museum

I'm thinking we should make something like this of sparklers and then light them!  Art inspires!  ;)

I’m thinking we should make something like this of sparklers and then light them! Art inspires! 😉

We also travelled to a neighbourhood called Recoleta, which is one of the richest neighbourhoods in the city.  There we went to a modern museum called the MALBA , where we saw art from Latin America.  It was all pretty modern and kind of strange.  Then we walked in the drizzly rain past a bunch of embassies, through some parks, until we found a great cafe to eat a delicious lunch.  After our bellies were full, we went to the famous Recoleta cemetery where tombs  hold people of the dead!!! It was strange because I’d never seen something like that – I even could see into some tombs where I saw actual coffins, including coffins of babies!  It kind of freaked me out.  There were also cats wandering all over the place.  Gina actually pretended to step into a broken tomb, and some water leaked on her head, and she freaked out thinking a ghost or blood was dripping on her.  I laughed so hard at her!  Also, in Recoleta the night before we went to a famous bookstore the El Ateneo, which my mom really wanted to see.  It was an old-fashioned theatre turned into a huge Chapters-like bookstore.  On the stage was cafe where I ordered a submarino, which is hot milk that you melt a chocolate bar into it!

Recoleta Cemetery tombs

Recoleta Cemetery tombs

I see dead people!!!

I see dead people!!!

On our final day we went to San Telmo, which is another poor, old and beautiful neighbourhood.  We walked down the cobblestone road checkingout all the artisans there.  It was pretty crazy because there were people everywhere, so with all the people selling stuff, the road, the hills, etc… it was loco! But I did get to buy some cool pants!  We ended our walk at the Casa Rosada, which is the Pink House – it is the White House of Argentina where the President lives.  Outside the Casa Rosada were lots of pigeons and protestors who do not like things government does or doesn’t do.  We ended our walk by heading back to the hotel to get packed up and leave Gina! 🙁

9 Julio - widest street ever!

9 Julio – widest street ever!

The family  in front of the massive Obelisco!

The family in front of the massive Obelisco!

 

My sister and I have gone to the birds!

My sister and I have gone to the birds!

Overall, my trip to Buenos Aires was something I really loved because we got to see and do so many interesting things!  This is a city I’d like to visit again.

Over all we had an amazing time in Buenos Arìs with Gina, our hotel, and being able to see so many unique things, and more. Boy, I love Buenos Aries!!!

Gina learning to tango!  woo hoo

Gina learning to tango! woo hoo

Casa Rosada - the PINK HOUSE where the President lives!

Casa Rosada – the PINK HOUSE where the President lives!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar